Give donation to Consortium

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Aquino-Roxas tandem wins independent mock elections/survey in UAE


Aquino-Roxas tandem wins independent mock elections/survey in UAE
• Reelectionist Pia Cayetano top senatorial contest
• 69% of respondents did not register as Overseas Absentee Voter

Dubai, United Arab Emirates – Senator Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino and Manuel "Mar" Roxas of the Liberal Party rated strongly in the mock elections/survey conducted by the San Beda Alumni Association – UAE Chapter among Filipino expatriates in the United Arab Emirates.

The survey was conducted from March 1-14 from among 123 respondents in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sharjah and other parts of the UAE.

Aquino garnered 56.6% of the 120 votes cast for president with Lakas-CMD bet Gilbert "Gibo" Teodoro and Nacionalista Party's Manuel "Manny" Villar tying for second with 16.6% each. Senator Richard Gordon of the Bagumbayan party ranked 4th with 8.33% followed by former president Joseph Estrada who rated 1.67%.

No votes were cast for the other candidates: Bro. Eddie Villanueva, Senator Jamby Madrigal, Nicanor Perlas, Olongapo City Councilor JC delos Reyes and Vitaliano Acosta.

In the vice presidential contest, Roxas garnered 61.48%. Former Metro Manila Development Authority Chairman Bayani Fernando of the Bagumbayan party placed second with 14.75% while Makati City Mayor Jejomar Binay of PDP-Laban/Pwersa ng Masa ranked 3rd with 10.66%. Senator Loren Legarda and TV host Edu Manzano tied for 4th with 4.92% while former SEC Chairman Perfecto Yasay of Bangon Pilipinas finished 5th with 3.28%.

No votes were cast for radio-TV announcer Jay Sonza of the Kilusang Bagong Lipunan and
Dominador "Jun" Chipeco of the Ang Kapatiran Party.
A mix of familiar names in Philippine politics dominated the senatorial survey with reelectionist Senator Pia Cayetano topping the contest with 7.54% followed by Ralph Recto and reelectionist Miriam Defensor Santiago who placed 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Making the "Magic 12" were: Ilocos Norte Governor Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos, former Senate president Franklin Drilon, former Senator Serge Osmena, former Cavite congressman Gilbert Remulla, Sonia Roco, Bukidnon Rep. Teofisto "TG" Guingona, reelectionist senators Juan Ponce Enrile and Jinggoy Estrada and Joey de Venecia.
Closing in on 13th to 17th spots were: former Marine captain Ramon "Monmon" Mitra, former senator Vicente "Tito" Sotto III, reelectionist Ramon Bong Revilla, former senator Francisco "Kit" Tatad and former labor undersecretary Susan "Toots" Ople.

Majority of the respondents (69.92%) did not register for Overseas Absentee Voting,

According to Ares P. Gutierrez, president of the San Beda Alumni Association – UAE, the survey was meant to feel the political pulse of the Filipino community in this part of the world.

"The survey also served as a tool to educate our fellow OFWs on how the voting will be conducted under the new poll automation system and our respondents also got to know who are the people standing for election," he said.

Gutierrez clarified that the respondents were not limited to a closed group or a particular segment of the Filipino community.

"The respondents were selected at random. We went to malls and places where Filipinos usually congregate and distributed survey forms. We also asked colleagues at work, housemates, neighbors and friends in our respective professional and social networks to 'vote'," he said. (end)

Note: Full breakdown of results attached.



No comments:

Post a Comment